IntroductionBooks/HandbooksAcademic JournalsDatabases & Online PortalsNetworks & Regional Partnerships
AfricaAmericasAsiaEuropeMiddle East & North Africa
This is the "Books/Handbooks" page of the "DECENTRALIZATION" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DECENTRALIZATION   Tags: decentralization  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2015 URL: http://peaceanddialogueplatform.libguides.com/decentralization Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books/Handbooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Dickovick, Tylor J. Decentralization and Recentralization in the Developing World. Penn State University Press, 2011. [Google Books]
About: The author seeks to illuminate how the processes of decentralization and recentralization are interrelated and what the dynamics of each is. He argues that decentralization occurs as a result of the decline in the power of the presidency, whereas recentralization occurs when the president resolves an extraordinary economic crisis. The processes of decentralization and recentralization, he further argues, have the same dynamics whether they occur in federal or unitary states. 
Burki, Shahid J., Guillermo Perry and William Dillinger. Beyond the Center: Decentralizing the State. Washington: The World Bank, 1999.
About: This book examines the impact of decentralization and its effect on the efficiency of public services, on equity, and on macroeconomic stability. It also addresses the issue of politics and notes that successful decentralization requires more than good rules. Those rules must be compatible with incentives. Therefore, the report looks at the broader set of rules that affect political behavior, focusing particularly on electoral systems and political parties.
Burns, D., R. Hambleton and P. Hogget. The Politics of Decentralization: Revitalizing Local Government. Macmillan, 1994.
About: This wide-ranging book sets discussion of the various approaches to local government decentralisation in the context of the changing nature of public service management and the possibilities for new kinds of public involvement in government decision-making. It draws on a wide range of experiences throughout the UK as well as the findings of an in-depth study of the impact of radical decentralisation strategies in two inner London boroughs to provide an authoritative assessment of the politics of decentralisation.
Cheema, G. S. and D. A. Rondinelli. Decentralization and Development: Policy Implementation in Developing Countries. Sage Publications, 1983.
About: "The authors in this volume examine experiences in Asia, South America, and Africa to review the varieties of decentralization policies and programmes. They identify the social, economic, and political factors that seem to influence their success or failure. Alternative approaches to decentralization of development planning are discussed, and prescriptions for improved implementation are made." [Google Books]
 

Handbooks

Decentralization Toolkit. World Bank, 2000.

About: "The purpose of the decentralization toolkit is to characterize the degree of decentralization within a country and assess how well it is designed and implemented. Characterizing the degree of decentralization is useful for monitoring how the roles and responsibilities of different levels of government change over time within a particular country and to a lesser extent, for cross country comparisons." [Publisher]

Decentralization and Democratic Local Governance Programming Handbook. USAID, 2000.

About: This handbook provides a conceptual framework and guidance for choosing successful programming strategies, for selecting entry points and tactics in program design and implementation, and for mission monitoring and evaluation. Further, it provides a discussion of key lessons learned and future programming issues.

Barnett, Camille C., Henry P. Minis and Jerry VanSant. Democratic Decentralization. Research Triangle Institute, 1997.

About: The authors provide a conceptual framework for understanding democratic decentralization. In an effort to design and evaluate programs, they identify implementation process, design considerations, and performance indicators.

Submit Knowledge Resources

Do you know another good resource related to the topic?

Please send us your links, articles and others knowledge resources.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip